Seven elected to Princeton Board of Trustees


Princeton University has named seven members to its Board of Trustees, effective July 1.

The trustees are:

  • José Alvarez and Beth Cobert, who were elected by the board to serve as charter trustees;
  • Yan Huo and Carol Quillen, who were elected by the board to serve as term trustees;
  • Yolandra Gomez Toya and Jackie Yi-Ru Ying, who were elected by alumni to serve as alumni trustees; and
  • Naomi Hess, who was elected by the junior and senior undergraduate classes and the two youngest alumni classes to serve four years as a young alumni trustee.

Completing their terms as trustees on June 30 are Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, Class of 1987; Josh Bolten, Class of 1976; C. Kim Goodwin, Class of 1981; Paul Haaga Jr., Class of 1970; Myesha Jemison, Class of 2018; Kimberly Johnson, Class of 1995; Craig Robinson, Class of 1983; and Marco Tablada, Class of 1993.

Biographical information about the new trustees follows.

José Alvarez

José Alvarez, of East Corinth, Vermont, is a clinical professor of business administration at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth as of July 1. He is also a visiting senior lecturer at Harvard Business School, where he has served on the faculty since 2009. He conducts research and teaches courses in food systems, board governance and retailing. 

Prior to his academic career, Alvarez spent nearly 20 years in the supermarket industry, culminating in his tenure as president and chief executive officer of Stop & Shop/Giant-Landover. Alvarez currently serves on the board of directors for United Rentals, where he is the chair of the Nominating and Governance Committee; the TJX Companies; and Munoz Group. He is also the chair of the board of the Joyce Foundation, lead director of Empower Schools, a director of the Good Jobs Institute and a director of Daily Table.

He holds an MBA from the University of Chicago and a bachelor’s degree in history from Princeton, where he served as an alumni trustee from 2016-20.

Beth Cobert

Beth Cobert, of…