CHARLOTTE, N.C. — For a moment, the New Orleans Saints looked like they’d made a huge play to preserve a 10-7 lead when Nathan Shepherd got his hand on a 48-yard field goal attempt with 6:29 remaining in the third quarter.
Then the officiating crew reviewed what happened after the block during the ensuing commercial break.
They saw defensive end Cameron Jordan attempt to fall on the ball and not maintain possession beyond the line of scrimmage, and they saw the Panthers recover, and they determined the Panthers retained possession upon the recovery.
Speaking to a pool reporter after the game, NFL Vice President of Instant Replay Mark Butterworth explained the ruling.
“The ruling on the field was a failed fourth down,” Butterworth said. “We go back and double check everything. (Jordan) touches the ball past the line of scrimmage, and once the defense touches a blocked kick … past the line of scrimmage, the ball becomes live after he touches it.
“When it becomes live, whoever recovers it, it’s a first and 10.”
The failed recovery ultimately didn’t matter: Four plays later, Carolina fumbled the ball on an end-around, and Saints linebacker Pete Werner recovered.
After the game, Jordan owned up to the mistake.
“I didn’t know where the ball was,” Jordan said. “First instinct is to secure the ball, and then I was skidding on the turf. … You’re supposed to get out of the way, but the reaction made me head towards the ball.”



